Morten Haxholm: “Aether” (2023)

Released by Zach’s MUSIC June 30th. 2023

Stream    English Press Text     CD/VINYL


1 Hilda

2 Tundra

3 Vesper

4 Ephemeral

5 Cinnober – intro

6 Cinnober

7 Malibu

8 Whirl

9 The Chalice and the Rising Sun




Lubos Soukup – Sax & Clarinet

Rasmus Oppenhagen Krogh – Guitar

Nikolaj Hess – Piano on #2,3,4 & 9

Søren Gemmer – piano on #5 & 6

Steffen Nordenstam – additional guitars, efx and samples on #2 & #5

Jakob Høyer – Drums

Morten Haxholm – Bass, Doublebass & Compositions


Recorded at The Village, Vanløse by Thomas Vang January 2021

Mix by August Wanngren

Mastering by Thomas Eberger & Stockholm Mastering

Picture by Daniel Buchwald

Cover art by Mikkel Dysted

Co-producer: Lubos Soukup.

Music published by Peter Bek at Zack’s PUBLISHING
Distribution by Peter Bek at Zack’s MUSIC


Thanks to RUSK, KODA and STATENS KUNSTFOND for financial support.


Morten Haxholm KOAN Quintet: “Avalon” (2020)

Released by Gateway April 3. 2020



1 Glomgold

2 Avalon

3 Meta Stasis Intro

4 Meta Stasis

5 Ronkedor




Line Up:

Tomasz Dabrowski: Trumpet
Magnus Thuelund: Sax
Søren Gemmer: Piano
Morten Hæsum: Drums
Morten Haxholm: Bass & Compositions


Recorded at “the Village” June 7th 2019 – by  Thomas Vang – video by Jonas Lyngdam

Mixed by Morten Haxholm & John Fomsgaard – Master by John Fomsgaard

Cover by Mikkel Dysted

Thanks to KODA for finacial support


Morten Haxholm Quartet: “Vestigium” (2018)

iTunes      Buy Physical Copy      LINK TO PRESS


01. Occam’s Razor
02. Vestigium
03. Central Park West
04. Leviathan
05. Obviate
06. Deep Sea Explorer
07. A World Without End
08. All or Nothing at All

Total time: 53:00

Line Up:

Jonathan Kreisberg – Guitar
Ari Hoenig – Drums
Nikolaj Hess – Piano
Frederick Menzies – Sax (on 2,4,6)
Morten Haxholm – Double bass

All compositions by Morten Haxholm (Except: 01 by Haxholm/Kreisberg, 03 by John Coltrane & 08 by Arthur Altman)
Recorded January 29-30, 2017, by Thomas Vang, at “The Village”, Copenhagen.
Mixed by August Wanngren; Mastered by Jørgen Vad; Cover by Mikkel Dysted
Thanks to DMF, DJBFA & KODA for financial support.

”Projektet er støttet af Koda Kultur / With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds” – THANKS to DMF, KODA & DJBFA for finacial support!

Morten Haxholm Chordless Quartet:  ”Tesseract” (2017)

iTunes     LINK TO PRESS       

Track listing: 

01. Suppossedly So

02. Tesseract

03. Intermezzo I

04. Lines

05. Twister

06. Elcano

07. Tumnalina

08. Intermezzo II

09. El Bastolon

10. Itzu


Check out the video from the studio:


Line up:

Melissa Aldana – Sax

Mads La Cour – Flugelhorn & Cornet

Morten Hæsum – Drums

Morten Haxholm – Doublebass


All compositions by Morten Haxholm.

Recorded at the Village september 2016 by Bjørn Gjessing,

released june 2017 on Gateway Music

Mix and Master by John Fomsgaard

Album cover by Mikkel Dysted

Morten Haxholm Quartet: ”Viridian” (2015)

iTunes     Buy Physical Copy     LINK TO PRESS

Track listing:

01. Eldritch


03. Stella By Starlight

04. Frantic

05. Birthday Waltz

06. Umber

07. Gloria

08. Along Came Betty


SECRET BONUS TRACK: “Cyclic Episode”

Line up:

Lage Lund – Guitar

Morten Haxholm – Doublebass

Morten Lund – Drums

William Larsson – Piano


Released May 29th 2015 on Gateway Music

Recorded at “The Village” by Bjørn Gjessing

Mixed by: Bjørn Gjessing

Cover By: Mikkel Schrøder Dysted


iTunes     Buy Physical Copy     Link To Press

Track listing:

01. Prometheus  

02. Brazen

03. Umber

04. Deepsea Explorer

05. Cognitive Dissonance

06. Miyagi

07. Subtle Drift

08. Happy Ever After Is So Once Upon A Time

Line up:

Seamus Blake – Sax
John Escreet – Piano
Rasmus Schmidt – Drums
Morten Haxholm – Doublebass


All songs composed by Morten Haxholm – except nr 08 by Rasmus Schmidt

Released May the 29th 2015 on Gateway Music

Recorded at Acoustic Recording, Brooklyn, by Michael Brorby on April 16th 2014

Mixed by Bjørn Gjessing – Mastered by John Fomsgaard, Cover Design by Marcjanna Urbanska

Morten Haxholm Quartet: ”Quintessence of Dust” (2014)

iTunes          Buy Physical Copy         

To buy physical copy – search (søg) for haxholm – press shopping cart

Track listing:

01. Sleight of Hand

02. Fraps

03. Quintessense of Dust

04. Shifts

05. Mefisto

06. Nefertiti

07. Ganzfeld

08. Monk’s Dream


Line up:

Jonathan Kreisberg – Guitar

Morten Haxholm – Doublebass

Ari Hoenig – Drums

Nikolaj Hess – Piano


All compositions by Morten Haxholm except 06 + 08.

Recorded at the Village, copenhagen februrary 2013, released september 24th, 2014.

Recorded & Mixed by Thomas Vang, Master by John Fomsgaard

Album cover by Mike Højgaard

Morten Haxholm Quartet: “Equilibrium” (2013)

iTunes          Buy Physical Copy           LINK TO PRESS

Track listing:

01. Giacometti

02.  Ezra

03. Falter

04. Reconstructed

05. Night And Day

06. Unseen

07. Cruithne

08. Out of Nowhere



Bonus Info:

A few days before traveling to New York, my doublebass suffered a terrible injury, and I had to find another bass very fast!!

Luckly it all turned out pretty good – but my own bass was terriblely missed!:



Line up:

Jonathan Kreisberg – Guitar
Ari Hoenig – Drums
Morten Haxholm – Doublebass
Frederick Menzies – Sax on 4 tracks
William Larsson – Rhodes on 1 track


All tracks composed by Morten Haxholm – except track 05 & 08

Released by Storyville Records 2013.

Recorded February 27, 2012 at Systems Two, Brooklyn

Mix & Mastered by John Fomsgaard @ Karmacrew